Angola Flag

Angola: National Flag

Angola Avante

Onward Angola

“Angola Avante” (English: “Onwards Angola”, lit. '”Angola onward”‘) is the national anthem of Angola. Rui Alberto Vieira Dias Mingas composed the music, while the lyrics were authored by Manuel Rui Alves Monteiro. It was adopted as the national anthem in November 1975, when the country gained its independence from Portugal. The lyrics make reference to several key events of the People’s Movement for the Liberation of Angola (MPLA), which has been in power since independence and was the only party in Angola until 1992.

Source: Angola National Anthem