Azerbaijan Flag

Azerbaijan: National Flag

Azərbaycan marşı

Azerbaijan’s Anthem

“Azərbaycan marşı” (pronounced [ɑːzæɾbɑjˈdʒɑn mɑɾˈʃɯ]; “March of Azerbaijan”) is the national anthem of Azerbaijan. The music was composed by Uzeyir Hajibeyov, with lyrics by poet Ahmad Javad. The government officially adopted the anthem in 1920, with the passage of the decree, “On the State Hymn of the Republic of Azerbaijan”. In 1992, after the fall of the Soviet Union, Azerbaijan’s government officially restored “Azərbaycan Marşı” as the national anthem.

The Azerbaijan government has also officially declared the national anthem to be “the sacred symbol of the Azerbaijan state, its independence and unity.”

Since 2006, a fragment of the lyrics is depicted on the obverse of the 5 manat banknote. In 2011, to mark the 20th anniversary of independence, a stamp featuring the lyrics was issued.

Source:Azerbaijan National Anthem