Benin Flag

Benin: National Flag

L’Aube Nouvelle

The Dawn of a New Day

“L’Aube nouvelle” (“The Dawn of a New Day”) is the national anthem of Benin. Written and composed by Father Gilbert Jean Dagnon, it was adopted upon independence of the Republic of Dahomey from France in 1960.

After Dahomey became the People’s Republic of Benin in 1975, the anthem was retained, but the words Dahomey and Dahoméen were changed to Bénin and Béninois.

Source:Benin National Anthem