Indian flag

India: National Flag

Jana Gana Mana

Hail the ruler of all minds

Jana Gana Mana” (lit. ’Thou Art the Ruler of the Minds of All People’) is the national anthem of the Republic of India. It was originally composed as Bharoto Bhagyo Bidhata in Bengali by polymath Rabindranath Tagore on 11 December 1911. The first stanza of the song Bharoto Bhagyo Bidhata was adopted in its Hindi translation by the Constituent Assembly of India as the National Anthem on 24 January 1950. A formal rendition of the national anthem takes approximately 52 seconds. A shortened version consisting of the first and last lines (and taking about 20 seconds to play) is also staged occasionally. It was first publicly sung on 27 December 1911 at the Calcutta (now Kolkata) Session of the Indian National Congress.